Pendant of a mother and child given to me by my children

Above is a symbol of motherhood given to me by my children.

I have been a mother for nearly 29 years, but seeing my daughter with her newborn brings those first weeks and months of motherhood back like they were yesterday.

Everything new. Everything scary. Everything hard. Everything tiring. But everything wonderful and magical while gazing into a newborn’s eyes. Time stops and all there is is LOVE.

This still happens to me when I really (REALLY) look into any one of my children’s eyes…from my 29 year old to my 11 year old “baby girl”.  A mother’s love.

From the moment I gave birth to my first child (who surprised us three weeks early), I received a new heart – a heart of a mother. A heart filled with a self-sacrificing love. Unconditional love. Constant and faithful love. Forgiving, generous, joyful, and tender love. A heart filled with gratitude.

I am so thankful for this gift of motherhood. Through the gift of motherhood, I have received a mother’s heart through the giving and (mostly) receiving of love. It is not an easy love.  There are moments when I need to make a conscious choice to love.  There are moments when there seems only frustration and worry, but underneath, there is still love.

Love in my hands that touch, clean and cook.  Love in my arms that hug and hold.  Love in my steps at Shoprite.  Love in my prayers to God.  Love in my voice.  I love you.  Great job.  Thank you.  I’m sorry. I forgive you.  

Love is more easily experienced than defined. As a theological virtue, by which we love God above all things and our neighbours as ourselves for his sake, it seems remote until we encounter it enfleshed, so to say, in the life of another – in acts of kindness, generosity and self-sacrifice. Love’s the one thing that can never hurt anyone, although it may cost dearly. The paradox of love is that it is supremely free yet attaches us with bonds stronger than death. It cannot be bought or sold; there is nothing it cannot face; love is life’s greatest blessing.
-Sr. Catherine Wybourne

Through motherhood, I am becoming the best version of myself that I can possibly be. And I am so happy, the happiest I have ever been. This life of motherhood, though challenging, is so full of joy and adventure. I am so grateful for my children. Such a gift.  Such a privilege to be called “Mom”.

God knew that to love is to suffer
so God made a Mother.
He needed someone who knows that in every hard place
is *exactly* where you extend grace
Someone willing to keep loving when it makes no sense because
*that is what love does*
Someone who knows that life is not an emergency but a gift — one thousand gifts.
Someone who knows that umbilical cords can be cut —
*but heart strings never can.*
So God made a Mother.
-Ann Voskamp

If you would like to share your version of “Thankful Thursday” (photos or text or both) today or in the future, you can link your post to my post on Thursdays in the comments section. Happy Thursday Everyone!